While the area’s more modern houses are indiscernible from their suburban counterparts, the older homes tend to reflect the conservative attitudes and limited means of their rural or small-village builders. The largest examples compare in size and ostentatiousness to only the more modest urban examples of the same time period. The most outstanding features of these homes are their intimate scale and the intricate woodwork, which remains intact on many of the houses today. It is reputed that there are more than one hundred houses over one hundred years old still standing in Pike Township. The most notable is the Robinson-Sparks house (7658 Noel Road in Traders Point area). This remodeled log cabin contains its original log walls, a black walnut corner cupboard, the original fireplace and a split-log “punchin’ floor”. The timbers in the attic are black walnut. The terrace along the first story was built using homemade bricks. The home is one of the two oldest houses in Marion County and boasts an 1830 land grant bearing Andrew Jackson’s signature. Also of note is the Hollingsworth Homestead (6054 Hollingsworth Road). A two-story brick pioneer residence built in 1854 with walls three bricks thick, a parlor, a “plunder room” for children on the second floor and three fireplaces. The pioneering Hollingsworth family held the old farmhouse for three generations. It is now owned by the UNIGOV Department of Parks and Recreation. Plans are being made ot establish a Pike Township Historical Museum in the house (*ed. note this never occurred). An application has been made for the admission of the Hollingsworth House to the National Registry of Historic Landmarks.
. . .A large beech tree in the Eagle Creek Park area bears the signature of Daniel Boone reputably carved during a surveying expedition (ed. note, PBS movie on this is available elsewhere on this blog).
Other homes mentioned in the book narrative and that are located within the Traders Point Triangle:
8407 Moore Road: Moore/Asher House, 1879, The original portion of this home is a two-story cubicle-shaped frame farm house. It contains an enclosed narrow stairway, long narrow windows, large beams in the basement and walnut woodwork.
7356 Lakeside Drive: McCune/Sacks House, 1855, This two-story frame house features a “wrap-around” porch now covering 2 1/2 sides, mortar foundation, hewn logs in the basement walls and yellow poplar wood in the exterior brought from Cincinnati. In the early 1900’s the house was owned by Mrs. Carl Fisher (blog ed. note: widow of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Miami Florida developer Carl Fisher) and used as a country home. During Mrs. Fisher’s ownership the Salvation Army operated a summer camp for children on the grounds. One summer Governor Thomas R. Marshall gave a speech on the home’s porch, in connection with the camp.
6360 West 79th Street, Cotto/Ropkey House, 1849. A two-story Georgian frame home, featuring yellow poplar siding, a boulder foundation, hewn timbers in the basement and heavy, wide-board oak floors. The interior of the old home also contains a winding stairway with cherry rail, high ceilinged rooms and some windows containing the original glass panes. A terrace runs around the whole structure. An antique lightning rod atop the roof completes the charming effect.